Leicestershire is a land-locked county in the English Midlands. It takes its name from the City of Leicester, where all the adminstration is undertaken, although the City of Leicester unitary authority is today administered on it’s own from the rest of Leicestershire. The county borders Northamptonshire to the south-east, Lincolnshire to the north-east, Nottinghamshire to the north, Rutland to the east, Warwickshire to the south-west, Staffordshire to the west and Derbyshire to the north-west. The border with the majority of Warwickshire is the ancient Roman road of Watling Street (the A5).


Leicestershire was recorded in the Domesday Book in four wapentakes: Guthlaxton, Framland, Goscote and Gartree. These later ended up being hundreds, with the department of Goscote into West Goscote and East Goscote, and the addition of Sparkenhoe hundred. In 1087, the very first recorded use of the name was as Laegrecastrescir.

Leicestershire’s external borders have changed little because the Domesday Study. The Measham-Donisthorpe exclave of Derbyshire has actually been exchanged for the Netherseal location, and the metropolitan growth of Market Harborough has triggered Little Bowden, formerly in Northamptonshire to be annexed.

In 1974, the City government Act 1972 abolished the county borough status of Leicester city and the county status of neighbouring Rutland, transforming both to administrative districts of Leicestershire. These actions were reversed on 1 April 1997, when Rutland and the City of Leicester ended up being unitary authorities. Rutland became an unique Ceremonial County as soon as again, although it continues to be policed by Leicestershire Constabulary.

The sign of the county council, Leicestershire County Cricket Club and Leicester City FC, is the fox. Leicestershire is considered to be the birth place of fox hunting as it is known today. Hugo Meynell, who resided in Quorn, is referred to as the daddy of fox searching. Melton Mowbray and Market Harborough have associations with fox hunting, as has neighbouring Rutland.


The River Soar increases to the east of Hinckley, in the far south of the county, and flows northward through Leicester prior to emptying into the River Trent at the point where Derbyshire, Leicestershire, and Nottinghamshire fulfill. A big part of the north-west of the county, around Coalville, forms part of the brand-new National park location extending into Derbyshire and Staffordshire. The acme of the county is Bardon Hill at 278 metres (912 ft), which is likewise a Marilyn. The lowest point has to do with 24.8 m, north of Bottesford where the River Devon leaves Leicestershire and goes into Nottinghamshire.


Leicestershire Towns that We Power Flush In:

Broughton Astley
Castle Donington
Dunton Bassett
Earl Shilton
Husbands Bosworth
Market Bosworth
Market Harborough
Melton Mowbray
Newbold Verdon
North Kilworth
South Kilworth
Stoney Stanton
Wanlip & Wigston